Forum: General Topics

Forums / General Topics / Small problem with polish characters in vector map...

Subject:Small problem with polish characters in vector maps 

wajak

20:24
Saturday
15-Aug-2009

Hi Stephen,

I've been using TMJ for a couple of months. Now, when I upgraded to full version I noticed that TMJ has problem with polish characters in vector tiles:
There is  sign in place of two last letters in a name of POI or street when one of the polish characters is next to last in that name.
For example: KOMOR should be KOMORÓW etc.

Adam

Stephen

21:33
Saturday
15-Aug-2009

Phone Model:
BB 9800 Torch
BlackBerry 8900
SE W910i
Nokia 5800

Hi Adam,

Could you give a couple more examples - I've searched for Komorow (not sure how to do the accent on my keyboard here!) and have found this one, which seems to display fine on the Vector Maps on my phones - is it a different place that you're talking about?

There is a chance that *some* phones might not be able to display the full 'unicode' alphabet, though it would be odd if this is the case with your phone, assuming that it was designed for the Polish market. (Which phone is it, by the way?)

Thanks,
Stephen

wajak

19:43
Wednesday
19-Aug-2009

Hi,
Today I took a ride and checked it again. I confirm that the problem occurs when the polish character is next to last. I found a couple names of towns near Warsaw:
Wieruchów, Kwirynów and my home town Piastów :)

I don't think that that it is problem with my phone because it display ok when ó is in somewhere else, for example: name of street: Józefa.

My phone: SE k800i - bought in Poland.

Adam

Stephen

22:47
Thursday
20-Aug-2009

Phone Model:
BB 9800 Torch
BlackBerry 8900
SE W910i
Nokia 5800

Hi Adam,