Forum: Announcements

Forums / Announcements / Another update...

Subject:Another update... 

Stephen

18:40
Wednesday
5-Aug-2009

Phone Model:
BB 9800 Torch
BlackBerry 8900
SE W910i
Nokia 5800

Ok, so I figured I should explain whats happening with TMJ, and why there has been a delay in releasing the next version...

I've been working on TMJ for over 3 years now in my spare time. Towards the end of last year I came to the conclusion that I could no longer justify the long hours spent on the project, without it at least contributing to my electricity, server, website and other costs (cider in particular)! I therefore added the Donations button to the site, but whilst I am extremely grateful to everyone who has donated, it has become clear that this isn't really a viable way to support the project.

So I have now decided to introduce a charge for TMJ-Mobile. There will be two versions: a free 'Basic' version and a paid-for Full version, costing EUR12 or EUR18 for 6 or 12 month subscriptions respectively. Both versions maintain most of the existing functionality, but the Basic version has some limitations, in particular the maximum number of trackpoints and waypoints stored, and the vector maps (though it will now include a free trial of these).

I realise that it may be annoying that some previously-free functions will now require a subscription, however I hope you can understand my reasons for introducing the charge. (Incidentally, anyone who has previously donated will automatically be upgraded to the full version for an extended period).

I have recently set up TrackMyJourney as a UK Limited Company, which is the main reason for the delays, but I hope to release the new version very soon, followed by some updates to the website, after which I can hopefully get back to concentrating on the techie stuff and working on even more great functionality for the future!!

Many thanks,
Stephen

rolfovo

21:36
Thursday
6-Aug-2009